Our Team

Clearinghouse Research Center Staff

The National Student Clearinghouse® Research Center™ staff oversees the research arm of the National Student Clearinghouse. Tasked with compiling and interpreting hard data from the over 3,600 schools that use the Clearinghouse’s services, the Research Center staff develops reports on enrollment trends that inform education leaders and policymakers.

  • Doug Shapiro, Ph.D., Executive Research Director Contact
  • Afet Dundar, Ph.D., Director Contact
  • Joshua Leake, Research Operations Manager Contact
  • Michelle Blackwell, Manager, Data Partnerships Contact
  • Diana Gillum, Senior Research Associate Contact
  • Faye Huie, Ph.D., Research Associate Contact
  • Rachel Rush-Marlowe, Research Analyst Contact
  • Yuanqing Zheng, Research Analyst Contact
  • Ben Barrett, Research Analyst
  • Qing Liu, Research Analyst

Clearinghouse Research Center Board of Directors

As the research arm of the Clearinghouse, the Research Center is governed by a board of directors who are experienced in higher education, including education research and policy.

Data Access Advisory Committee (DAAC)

The Data Access Advisory Committee guides the Clearinghouse in its use of data as a neutral information provider, reviewing the Clearinghouse’s data system, security policies, and role in research analysis. The committee is comprised of education professionals who have extensive experience in student database management, research, and risk management.

  • Doug Shapiro, Chairperson – Executive Research Director, National Student Clearinghouse Research Center
  • Chris Broughton, Executive Director, Bottom Line
  • Archie Cubarrubia, Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness, Miami Dade College
  • Shane Karcz, Director, Office of Enrollment Research, Northeastern University
  • Jillian Klein, Director, Public and Federal Aid Policy, Capella University
  • Christina Whitfield, Associate Vice President, State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO)

Subscribe to get the latest from the Research Center.